1 Kings 11 & 12 – The Lord’s continuous blessing is given with continuous obedience

verse 38 “Then it will be, that if you listen to all that I command you and walk in My ways, and do what is right in My sight by observing my statutes and My commandments, as My servant David did, then I will be with you and build you an enduring house as I built for David, and I will give Israel to you”.

King Solomon in his latter years drew farther away from God. He had 700 wives, princesses, and 300 concubines. His wives turned his heart away from God. He built idols. Idols that his wives worshiped. Idols that he too, worshiped.

The Lord became angry with Solomon. He tore apart Solomon’s kingdom. But He did this during Solomon’s son’s (Rehoboam) reign, in respect to his father David. As David was honorable in the sight of God.

When King Solomon died, Rehoboam took over. All the assembly of Israel asked him to lighten the service his kingdom asks and they will be forever loyal servants, as King Solomon made the yoke hard. The elders counseled for this but Rehoboam’s peers were against it. Rehoboam listened to his peers. It was all downhill from there.

God then gave the blessing to Jeroboam to rule over Israel with a conditional blessing (1 Kings ch 11 v 38).

My learning:

Obedience is followed by blessing. Not the other way around.

Disobedience is sin. Sin keeps us away from God. Obeying God brings us closer to God.

ch 12: Listen to the counsel of the elders.

Leave a comment